Caution: Flower Overload

I went back to Michigan last Thursday, after being up at 5:30am, missing two flights and then driving 5 hours. We had one florist appointment that night with a woman named Megan, who was really sweet. She used to work in a florist shop, and then left and does things directly out of her home. I don’t think I’d be able to find anyone who would be able to beat her pricing, but my only concern was she hasn’t done a lot of weddings, and I wasn’t able to see a wide variety of visual pictures. Also, she only handles the personal things (bouquets, boutonnieres, etc), no reception decor. For that, she gave us the contact information of another woman, Debbie, who she used to work with.

We made an appointment to see Debbie on Friday, and to my surprise she had a bunch of small centerpieces done for a wedding that weekend, so it was nice to see something in person. I absolutely loved it, but now looking at the picture I took of it, I find it too casual for the setting where we are having our reception. Easy fix, considering you just substitute the flowers and such. But like at Megan’s, she didn’t have any visual pictures for me to look at, though she said she would do a mock up high centerpiece so I could see how that looks.

The mock up is going to be done sometime today, and my MOH is going over there to take a picture of it and send it to me. I don’t even know if I want high centerpieces anymore.

By sheer dumb luck got an appointment with Westborn Flowers with Richard, in the branch out in Livonia, after not being able to get an appointment with the one in Dearborn. Richard was absolutely wonderful, and with the numerous years backing him up, he definitely knew what he was talking about. For the first time I could actually see the flowers in person and could start to see how things could be pulled together. The only downside…the pricing.

Why must flowers be so ridiculously expensive?! I never wanted to spend outrageous amounts on flowers, that are going to die and be thrown out anyways. But my creativity is next to nothing when it comes to trying to think up of different things to do for centerpieces.

At this point my brain is mushed with an overload of flowers and different ideas floating in and out. Do I go with two different people who doesn’t have a ton of experience, but is definitely less expensive? Or do I go with someone who has over 20 years of experience who I know would do a wonderful job?

At this point in time, I don’t even want to look at flowers or arrangements. I continuously change my mind and what I seem to love and want, that I don’t know what to do anymore.

