Beware: Long update, full of pictures!

Our mini trip to Michigan seemed to fly by literally in a blink of an eye. For the most part I think we spent more time driving around, than actually being in one place. But besides racking up the miles, and not getting much sleep, it was quite a successful trip.

Our first meeting was over at The Henry Ford to go over table decor. We walked in and saw how the table would be set up, we’re not going to bust the budget and use higher quality china or add chargers…things that sure, I’d love to use, but the money is needed in other more important things.

PS. Sorry if the pictures aren’t the best quality, I took them with my phone.

Basic plates, flatware, and glassware. Add seven more to those to the table, and the table is going to start getting crowded. Obviously we’re not going with the hurricanes and candle (they are complimentary) as our centerpieces. Also, seeing their table numbers now, I’m definitely liking the ones I made.

Next up: chairs. Now we’re not breaking budget to add the “pretty” chairs, we’re just going to add fabric and call it good. With that, there are two options for us to use.

Exhibit A

bustled look

Exhibit B

fitted look with sash

At first glance, I liked the bustled look, because it was all one color. The fiance wanted to go with the fitted look, which I now like as the front runner, because it looks a bit more cleaner and simpler. The problem: what color to do the sash. The fiance wanted to go with this sage green color, and I started getting worried that we were going to start having clashes of different color of greens all over the place. Also, Donna sent me a couple pictures of other people’s reception set-ups and I wasn’t too fond of how the color pops out.

At the moment of finishing up the meeting I was still on the fence about the whole green sash look. (Note: the above green color is NOT the green that the fiance wanted.) As we were walking out of the meeting room, there was a picture of a couple standing in front of the above pillars with their tables behind them. Everything was white. THAT was what I wanted. No green sashes.

To me, the white and no added bright color, it flows with the ballroom. Now if our colors were more bright, than I’d say sure let’s go with something loud. But this isn’t the case.

And also, as an added bonus, this is what we picked out to be our tablecloths on the table. The subtle texture brings out so much more than having plain linens.

