No one really tells you how difficult money and budgeting can be. When you get your first job, seeing that money come into your hands is an amazing feeling and being able to spend it feels great. You start to get smarter as time progresses, and you begin to save up more and more money. Then you get to that age where you have to start paying bills, you move out and suddenly you see your account start to decrease more rapidly than ever.

Now, I still have a little bit of a nest egg with my savings account, and I have a fund that my godmother set up for me when I was born (but that I’m trying not to touch until retirement). I feel like what I’ve attempted to save up within the last 8 years of my life has not been enough. I feel like because I’m done with college, have a degree, I should have obtained a job with a wonderful salary. Granted, at least I have a full-time job, and although it’s only hourly, at least I’m getting 40 hours a week, and I have benefits.

Looking down the road, getting through planning our wedding, I’m curious to see what our finances in our lives will be once we are actually married. I have zero debt, he has student loans to pay off. I have some savings, he doesn’t have really anything. I realize that once we are married, everything becomes one. That includes money, which I think some newlywed’s don’t think about.

His debt, becomes our debt, and I will do everything in my power to help him pay those student loans off so we can have more freedom for other things. I am no longer just saving for myself, no longer am I only looking at my own personal bills; I have to get over the “Oh my god, my bank account is going to look lower than what I’m used to” feeling and learn to better manage my paychecks.

Although it definitely would be nice to find a better paying job, with better work hours…

