Last Wednesday my grandmother passed away. From what my parents said, she went very peacefully. I had planned on going ‘home’ anyways this past weekend, but when she died, everything changed. I still went home on Thursday, and everything was changed into funeral arrangements. Friday we had the visitation at night, and the funeral was Saturday morning. She wanted to be cremated like my grandfather, so that’s going to happen.

I learned a couple of things while talking to her friends. There were three girls who came, one of which brought pictures. In one picture frame, on one side was a picture of them when they were 3 and 4 years old, and on the other side was a picture of them when they were 79 and 80 years old.

Who cares what kind of career you have, who cares what you do throughout your life, but the one thing you want is friends. Friends are always there for you, through the good and the bad.

On the flip side, we also learned that my grandmother’s maid of honor in her wedding died the day after her. They stopped talking to each other several years ago over a debate and different opinions in politics. Politics, really?! No friendship is worth losing over something so stupid.

Rest in Peace Grandma, I’m going to miss you so much.

