I’ve seen several pictures both through friend’s Facebook pictures and also through my own searching online on how wedding rings and engagement rings look like on people’s fingers. Sounds creepy, but seriously, when you are looking for a wedding band, you want something that compliments your engagement band.

But here’s the next question…how are you supposed to wear the two rings together?

I grew up seeing my mom only ever wearing her gold wedding band, and no engagement ring. Things have changed and now she wears two rings (engagement band on one hand, and another ring my dad bought her on the other.)

So how does one wear two rings together? Traditionally the engagement ring is worn on top of the wedding band. The Greek believed a vein in the ring finger of the left hand led directly to the heart, which is why wedding rings are worn on that finger.  So, for many, wearing the wedding band under the engagement ring puts the wedding band “closest to the heart,” and the engagement ring worn on top of it “protects” it.

Of course with everything turning modern, people have chosen to do whatever is most comfortable, and I am all for that! Also, some brides choose to leave the engagement band on first because it was the first sign of commitment their future husband gave them. To each their own. For me though, when I went out and looked at bands, I purposefully tried the bands first with my e-ring second.

Now comes the tricky part…what to do during the actual wedding ceremony. There’s actually a few different options:

– Wear the engagement ring on the right hand during the ceremony, and move it to the left hand after the ceremony.
– Wear the engagement ring on the left hand during the ceremony but discreetly switch the order of the rings between the ceremony and reception if desired.
– Put the engagement ring in a safe place or give it to your maid of honor and place back onto your finger until after the wedding ring is in place.

I guess you can call me old fashioned, but I don’t want to take my wedding ring off right after my new husband puts it on my finger. I think at this point in time I am going to plan on switching my engagement ring to my right hand right before the ceremony and then place it onto my left hand once the exchange of rings is complete.

